top of page

Building A Second Brain_#WhatIlearnedtoday (9/9/2020)

In modern life, everyone needs to read and process a lot of data. We have to analyze, understand, find a way to apply the knowledge we consume. However, few people know how to systematize knowledge. The information we have is often fragmented and difficult to reuse. So what is the effective way to organize and process information?


Offloading our thinking ono a “second brain,” we free our biological brain to imagine, create, and simply be present. "Building A Second Brain" is a methodology for saving and systematically reminding us of the ideas, inspirations, insights, and connections we’ve gained through our experience. It expands our memory and our intellect using the modern tools of technology and networks.


I learned about this concept from the article Forte Labs - Building a Second Brain. The core ideas you can find here in the mindmap. It reflects what I learn from the article.

(Note: you can zoom in, zoom out, and move your mouse to explore the mindmap)


For me, creating a second brain is also a way to understand and appreciate my life because each information is something that I experience. If I don't save it, I feel like I gradually forget a part of my life. My second brain helped upgrade my memory, allowing me to comfortably create, work, and navigate in the modern world of complex information.


*Animation from Johnny Harris


#WhatIlearnedtoday is a series of articles I write down about what interesting things I learned in a day.

bottom of page