top of page

Hedonic treadmill_ #WhatIlearntoday


What is the hedonic treadmill, also known as a hedonic adaptation?


Hedonic adaptation is a theory about how a person will have a baseline level of happiness. Every time you encounter something unhappy or happy in your life, that feeling will not last and you will soon return to the baseline.



It also suggests the great message that when I have a particular external desire, and when I have it, the satisfaction doesn't last long. Humans tend to get used to what they have and continue to look for something else to please them. I found a quote from Daniel Kahneman - 2002 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences and the founder of Behavioral Economics.

People are exposed to many messages that encourage them to believe that a change of weight, scent, hair color (or coverage), car, clothes, or many other aspects will produce a marked improvement in their happiness. Our research suggests a moral, and a warning: Nothing that you focus on will make as much difference as you think.


What did I learn from it?


Don's fall prey to modern society's materialistic nature. "?


Pursuing external things such as sexual desires, cheap entertainment, and material possessions for oneself often does not create lasting happiness because those satisfying feelings will fade. I have also been acting unconsciously on my desires, but I think I should be more conscious of these things, questioning its true value.


Learn about Mindfulness and Stoic philosophy in creating lasting inner happiness.


Mindfulness and Stoic philosophy help me let go of my desires and ask questions about what is truly valuable and long-term benefits for myself and others. "True Knowledge" as the protagonist of Plato's story about the cave, he went out of the dark and headed towards the light to seek his knowledge.



#WhatIlearntoday is a series of articles to record the knowledge I learned in a day. This knowledge is not the final version but will be updated and developed over time.

bottom of page