top of page

Be present with my friends

This week, one important thing I've learned is to be present with my friends. Because when I talk to others, I have a tendency to express myself rather than listening. So I'm learning to take a breath to create space for caring and love others. Otherwise, I would have missed out on the most precious gift I can give others, my presence to listening.


Over the past few days, in my online meditation group, some friends feel very sad. A woman living in an elderly community worried about her friends' safety. And one other woman was usually cheerful but today, she burst into tears. She confided that she had held sad feelings for so long because she spent all of her time taking care of others. Sadness accumulated inside her, and today she wanted to sob in front of everyone. And all of the people in the group sent her encouragement and caring.


A classmate of mine, feeling tired of the family's expectations while he can't meet those. He shared about the trauma he suffered from his parents; it tormented his heart. But overcoming those difficult things, he still keeps a caring heart. He still loves his family very much and wishes the best for his family and relatives.

My partner tells me that the most significant thing for him is his own family. He wants to find someone to lean on, care for, someone to spend all of his time and attention. He is a child of the family, a filial son, always worried about others. This time he was feeling insecure because of no one by his side.

After listening to everyone's stories, I feel more humble, I think a little less about myself and pay more attention to other people's eyes and emotions. I wanted to be a good friend. I want to be a place where love, sympathy, and care can be given to make life a little better around me.


----


A Friend's Presence


A friend's presence in your life itself is a gift,

For a friend is always there to give your sprits a lift.

To me you have been such a friend,

and have held on to be till the end.

Just being there by my side,

& protecting me as if I were your child,

It made me feel so loved and cared for,

With you my friend, I never ever felt alone.

Thank you so much.


- Source:Wishafriend.com




bottom of page