top of page

The Golden Family



Dear Long


I am writing this to you because I know that you need me the most. In the cold winds of Hanoi, you walk but don't know where you go. You are trying to find your golden family because you need to feel warm and protected. You run away from your dark garret, where only tear and agonizing screams.

Your face, with the drops of blood flowing from your forehead, is stunned in rage and humiliation. You say to your dad: "I can ignore everything that you have done to us, but I beg you to do only one thing, please call me your son." And your dad went upstairs, saying nothing. The next day, you continue to cover your ears to keep from hearing your mother's moans.


At first, I want to write this letter to give you some advice, but I realized I couldn't have anything good to say because when I think about the past, I can't stand it myself. So I guess what you need is a belief, and that's something I can sincerely share with you.


Because of your courage, ten years later, I become who I am today. I am writing this letter, curled up on the blue sofa in a kitchen filled with soft golden light. From here, I can watch my loved one cooking in the small kitchen, his hand skillfully slice carrots, onions, and potatoes. I can always silently gaze at the beauty of the delicate yet simple Ikebana flower vase he arranges, as well as enjoy a great book from his bookshelves in the corner. And you know what, this is not only one golden family, but I have many more!


My second golden family is the sincere friends that I have on the road of life. Right now, I am eating hot pot with friends in the dormitory, and there are ten people in this family. We eat together with delicious food and warm smiles. The next moment, I close my eyes, feel the sensation, and dance in harmony with other friends. And during the summer afternoons, we sit quietly by the lake, watching the dancing clouds, marvel at the sky's change in color from brilliant orange to deep purple.


My third golden family is the world. Sounds strange, doesn't it. This is a family with members of all ages, races. Have you ever imagined that you would be in a group with Japanese, American, British, Nepali, Swedish? We share diverse life stories and discuss common interests like meditation and effective altruism. I can learn knowledge from the best, and become more thoughtful and humble. The love that I give to this large family is pure and selfless, and I try to accept others no matter who they are. And you know what the most beautiful thing is? I find out that my father, my mother, and my sister are also members of this big family, and I want to learn to love them the same way I love everyone.


When I learned more about the world, I find myself extremely fortunate. I have a roof over my head and a mother who sacrifices her youth for the opportunity I have. From meditation, I also learn that the past doesn't exist, neither does pain. My life is one moment after another, and if I look closely, there is no concrete connection between the previous moments; only emotions overshadowed them. When I allow myself to experience moment with its freshness, I will be able to feel all the beauty of life.


As you can see, your future is gold, so keep bravely walk on your path to find your family. It's right here.


All the best,

Hoàng Long

bottom of page