top of page

Where is the path to serenity?

Plato's cave

For me, the road to serenity is through knowledge. I don't want to be like the caveman in Plato's fable, looking at the shadow on the cave and claiming it to be the truth. I want to be the one who comes out of the cave, no matter how difficult it is. My eyes may be dazzled by the light, but I still want to look at the nature of things, at first its shadow, then at the subject, then at the sky, and finally at the sun - the source of knowledge.


Will I  Dare to Leave Plato's Cave?
Will I Dare to Leave Plato's Cave?

Living in a cave


(1) Runaway when something difficult happens


Whenever I'm stressed about something, I try to escape. Yesterday, when I was stressed out because the assignment was so hard, I spent 3 hours watching Youtube instead of doing homework. It gives me instant comfort, but it also confuses and agonizes me in the long run. This delay affects not only my experience and my teammate but also the whole class because we have presentations early next week. I have only looked into the shadow of the difficulty of studying, without looking directly at the benefits that knowledge can bring to myself and others.


(2) Act without understanding intentions


I also look at the shadow of my relationship with my partner. I take care of him, cooking, washing dishes, cleaning the house, cleaning the garden, being with him all the time while we still share the house but never wonder what the meaning and nature of love are. When I understand a little more, I think the importance of love is the spiritual connection when two people are together. Intentions are more important than actions because sometimes, I act out of my selfish purposes.


(3) Living in a cave of ignorance


After only one month at Fulbright university, I understood a vast world of knowledge that I never knew. But only a short time ago when I did my old job, I withdrawn and not study and work every day. I regret that I wasted a lot of time when I worked for three years at my old company.


Out of the cave


So I think the path to serenity is knowledge. It helps me re-examine the negative sides of myself, give it up, and immerse myself in the world of possibilities and opportunity.



-----------------------


"The Daily Journal" is a daily blog based on the book by author Ryan Holiday. It helps me to find inner peace and charity in everyday life by spending 15 minutes writing reflection on one question about Stoic philosophy.

bottom of page